November 25, 2009

Thanksgiving comes more than once a year

Posted in Between Us column, Relationships, Spirituality at 9:44 pm by dinaheng

When I was four years old, my parents took me to my godparents’ house for dinner one night. My mother, who was anxious that I make a good impression, drilled me on being polite and what to say.

So as soon as my godmother opened the front door, I told her, “Thank you for dinner. The food was delicious, and your house is very nice.”

Clearly, I wanted to make sure that I wouldn’t forget to say thank you.

Feeling gratitude for the blessings in our lives is a lesson many of us often forget. We go about our lives, readily complaining about the things that go wrong in the course of a day, not realizing that negative energy reinforces problems, not solutions.

The more we dwell on the challenges and hardships in our path, the more challenges and hardships the universe tends to send us. Fortunately, the opposite is also true.

Think positive thoughts, and what’s the worst that can happen? You may not always get what you want, but if you’re positive about whatever happens, you’ll probably avoid sleepless nights, irritable bowel syndrome, and any number of stress-related illnesses.

This Thanksgiving week, my heart is full of gratitude for so many things, large and small.

One of my dearest friends was diagnosed with ovarian cancer a couple of weeks ago. A tumor was found during her yearly gynecological exam, and she had to have a hysterectomy. As we talked, in the days leading up to the surgery, I held a positive feeling about the outcome, knowing that she would be okay.

Thankfully, doctors were able to remove the malignant tumor, and tests showed that it had not spread. So she will not need to have chemotherapy. I know that the prayers of many people surrounded her with love, and have no doubt that all that positive energy contributed to a positive outcome.

On the home front, I’ve been battling pesky little gnats for nearly 11 months. No matter what I sprayed on the plants, they still kept flying. I finally realized that not only were they coming from the plants, they were coming out of the bathroom drains in the guest bathroom, which isn’t used often.

So I poured some organic potion down the drains to digest the slime that gnats feed on, and the bugs have disappeared.  I ended up throwing out nearly 20 plants in the process, and am down to my last two, but I’m so thankful that the house is FINALLY gnat-free.

I’m now in Houston, visiting family for the holiday, and my nephew Mark, who has had the worst time getting potty trained, proudly showed me that he knows how to go to the potty on his own now.  If that isn’t something to be thankful for, I don’t know what is.

Gathering together for a special turkey dinner may happen only once a year, but gratitude is worth expressing every day.

 

1 Comment »

  1. IntrigueMe said,

    Gnats! Ha! All this time I’ve been wondering what these stupid little flies in my new condo are. I keep finding them dead around the bathroom sink, and I bet there’s some in the plants in my living room as well. Annoying little things, they are. Thanks for this post- I googled gnats and now know how to be rid of them!!


Leave a Reply

